End of Year Show Prize Giving: just look what can be achieved!!

One of the highlights of the academic year is when we come together to celebrate with annual prize giving at the School of Architecture and Design End of Year Show. The picture here was from our fabulous End of Year Show on Hasting Pier (long before we were social distancing). Despite being online this year we will still be awarding a number of prestigious prizes.  We are hoping that in these difficult times the prize giving will be an important marker of what has been achieved in exceptional circumstances this year.

The show will be LIVE from 4pm and Prizes at 5PM 03/07/2020. Be there to celebrate the award winners and nominees at 5PM but make sure you register to get the link before 4pm tomorrow.


The prize giving line up is as follows:

The John Andrews Drawing Prize  which will be presented by MA Sustainable Design, Course Leader, Dr. Tom Ainsworth. This prize will be awarded for drawings, which demonstrate a process of exploration, discovery and communication. The prize is open to all students across the School of Architecture and Design. Two book prizes will be awarded – one for an undergraduate student drawing and one for a post-graduate student drawing. Two runner-up book prizes will also be awarded. 

 RIBA RIBA Sussex Awards – presented by BA Architecture Course Leader, Luis Diaz. The RIBA Student Prizes at Brighton, Canterbury and Kent are funded by the Lovell Memorial Trust, a charity administered by the RIBA regional office. The Trust was set up in 1939, in memory of the architect Richard Goulburn Lovell, who founded the South Eastern Society of Architects in 1928. Local RIBA Branches award Student Prizes at Schools of Architecture in the region, at the end of the academic year.  

The 2020 judges are Paul Zara – Paul Zara Architects (RIBA Sussex Branch Chair), David MacDonald – ECE Architecture and Paul Nicholson – Chalk Architecture 

 The Head of School’s List for Excellence in Architectural Design at RIBA Part 1 presented by Luis Dias. 

 The AJ Prize presented by Jeff Turko, Master of Architecture Course Leader. The AJ Student Prize celebrates the work of undergraduate and postgraduate architecture students in the UK.  

 The Will and Partners Prize also to be presented by Jeff Turko. This award is for final year postgraduate students in MA. Architecture and MA Interior Design, one prize each, who have developed their design skills and explored innovative ways of designing. The prizes are intended to reward students who are aware that the architectural environment can affect human behaviour and wellbeing and who have demonstrated that understanding through their research and design portfolio.     

Two prizes will be awarded. One of £250 for an MArch student and one of & £250 for an  MAID student. 

 The Feix and Merlin Prize to be presented by Gem Barton, Course Leader for BA Interior Architecture. This prize will be open to BA Interior Architecture and BA Architecture students. An award of £150 [winner] £50 [second place] for graduating student[s] undertaking the BA Interior Architecture or BA Architecture course deemed to have shown exceptional skill and execution in designing from the ‘Inside Out’. The projects that win the award will have displayed a cohesive thought process from quality of the interior experience through to the external architecture. 

STUDIO B.A.D.  + Chora Award, also to be presented byGem Barton. One award of £125 [first prize] and £75 [second prize] for the graduating student undertaking the undergraduate BA (Hons) Interior Architecture course in recognition of narrative and storytelling through excellence in drawings and representation.  

 Chalk Architecture Prize, presented byGem Barton. One award for the graduating student undertaking a course within undergraduate Interior Architecture or Architecture deemed to have shown an exceptional record of research, process and investigation leading to a design proposal. 

 The Danial Jamel Above and Beyond Prize presented byGem Barton. A very special prize that celebrates and cherishes a final year student on the Interior Architecture course; a student with captivating energy and enthusiasm, a positive and powerful soul, a joy to be around. The winner is voted for by the gradating year

Outstanding Design Award for Product Design to be presented by Product Design Course Leader, James Tooze. The prize will go to a student who has created original design work of a very high quality. £200 winner / £50 runner up. All of the students managed to achieve high quality design development and communication, a significant accomplishment given the circumstances. 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       Ambitious Project Award for Product Design presented by James Tooze. Within both the Studio and the Tech Modules the student has clearly shown that they took risks either with the subject, technical aspects or scope/scale of the work… and the results are to be celebrated/commended. £200 winner / £50 runner up.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       

Studentship Award for Product Design presented by James Tooze. Students have shown real commitment to their studies, displaying dedication and determination throughout the year. £100 each.                                                                                                                                       

                                                                                                                                         Waste House Award for Circular Design (Sponsored by Duncan Baker-Brown) presented by Product Design, Year Leader, Damon Taylor. 

 See you there.