1000 guests enjoy End of Year Show Party and Prizes.

A RIBA Stirling Prize Winning Pier in blazing sunshine was the perfect setting for Prize Giving at last weeks amazing End of Year Show. The Grand Opening was attended by over 1000 visitors on the Friday night.

Family, friends, colleagues, and guests from Industry and Practice all took a pause from looking at the incredible array of students work to cheer on the winning students as they received their prizes. The acceptance speeches varied from thanking everyone at the School of Architecture and Design for the roller coaster journey that is studying Architecture to a simple one word ‘Cheers’.

Judges were full of praise and commented on the standard of hand drawing being of particular note at Brighton. The overall standard across both Architecture and Interior Architecture and Product Design surpassing previous years and being viewed as ‘truly exceptional’.

Professor Robert Mull and Deputy Head of School kicked off the prize giving acknowledging how exciting it was be able to hold the End Of Year Show on Hastings Pier and the extraordinary achievement both by the architects and the local community that developed the project.

“The Pier has given us a blank canvas for the students to inhabit; an opportunity to design and build a celebratory end-of-the-pier show to display their work to a wider audience. In addition, with this being the 25th anniversary of the University itself, it really feels like a party. The location looking out to sea, is a timely reminder that we are an island and that for the designers of the future, connecting, collaborating and looking beyond boundaries will be vital to their future success.” said Professor Robert Mull.

There was then a popular joint win for Michael Holland and Agata Malinowska: BA Architecture who both took the RIBA South East Student Prize.

Lizzie Walkden: BA Interior Architecture was awarded the Perkins+Will Thesis Prize for Interior Architecture.

Ed Crump from M’Arch Studio 3 was awarded both the RIBA (Sussex Branch) Prize and the Perkins+Will Thesis Prize fro Architecture.

Briony Manning: BA Interior Architecture was awarded Lathams Innovations in Timber Award.

Michael Wong BA Architecture received a Morgan Carn Annual Prize for Excellence in Interior Architecture

Imran Samee BA Architecture received the Make Award for Excellence in Architecture.

Harry Harwood: BA Architecture was awarded a Chaplaincy Prize for Creative Sustainability.

Barnaby Maynard: BA Architecture received a Morgan Carn Annual Prize for Excellence in Architecture.

After the prize giving the party resumed with tutors Tony Roberts and Nick Gant taking over the as DJs……truly a night to remember.